FEMA reminds Hurricane Michael survivors of upcoming deadlines

On Wednesday, FEMA released information on several approaching important deadlines for Hurricane Michael survivors.

The Disaster Unemployment Assistance aims to help workers whose primary incomes were lost or interrupted by Hurricane Michael. The assistance applies to the following counties: Bay, Calhoun, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Liberty, Taylor, Wakulla and Washington. The deadline for this is November 14th, but Leon County residences have until November 16th. 

There is also the Blue Roof program, which ends on November 16th. Homeowners must sign a Right of Entry (ROE) form to allow government employees and contractors onto their property to assess damage and install the temporary covering.

Even with insurance, you can still apply for disaster assistance. The deadline to apply for this is December 10th.

Federal disaster aid does not affect other government benefits, such as Social Security and Medicaid, and the aid is not considered taxable income.