Marco Rubio wins re-election to Senate

When he lost the Republican presidential primary in Florida early this year to Donald Trump, U.S. Sen. Marco Rubio won only his home county, Miami-Dade. But as Rubio won re-election Tuesday to the Senate, it was a far-different picture.

Rubio defeated Democrat Patrick Murphy in all but nine counties, according to unofficial results posted on the state Division of Elections website.

Murphy won in Alachua, Broward, Gadsden, Leon, Miami-Dade, Orange, Osceola, Palm Beach and St. Lucie counties. In all, Rubio captured about 52.1 percent of the vote, while Murphy won 44.2 percent.