School year begins with enhanced security

- It was back to school for thousands of kids in Central Florida on Monday, though some districts opened as early as last week. 

The bells rang in Orange County for the first time this school year and for the first time under security mandates spelled out following the deadly shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Florida.  The law was quickly put in place after a 19-year old former student killed 17 students and staff at the South Florida school.

School districts are required to designate a district school safety officer, opt in or out of the school guardian program, and place a school safety officer in every school. They are also required to complete security risk assessments for every school, provide access to mental health professionals in all schools, and establish threat assessment teams to meet every month in every school.

Orange County Public Schools says it is in compliance with every requirement.     The district and the Orange County Sheriff's Office chose not to create an armed school guardian program.

"Deputy presence will be evident at every school in unincorporated Orange County. To outline every detail of a security plan would go against what we're all striving to accomplish," read a comment sent to FOX 35 by the Sheriff's Office.

The Orlando Police Department will also have a resource officer in every school inside city limits.  For a status on school security in your district, contact the numbers below:

 

ALACHUA COUNTY
Karen Clarke, Superintendent
620 East University Avenue
Gainesville, FL 32601-5448
Email: supt@gm.sbac.edu
Main Number: 352-955-7300


BREVARD COUNTY
Dr. Desmond K. Blackburn, Superintendent
2700 Judge Fran Jamieson Way
Viera, FL 32940-6601
Email: blackburn.desmond@brevardschools.org
Main Number: 321-633-1000


DIXIE COUNTY
Mike Thomas, Superintendent
16077 NE Highway 19
Cross City, FL 32628
Email: michaelthomas@dixie.k12.fl.us
Main Number: 352-498-6131


FLAGLER COUNTY
James Tager , Superintendent
1769 E. Moody Blvd. Building 2
Bunnell, FL 32110-5991
Email: tagerJ@flaglerschools.com
Main Number: 386-437-7526


GILCHRIST COUNTY
Robert G. Rankin, Superintendent
310 NW 11th Avenue
Trenton, FL 32693-3804
Email: rankinr@mygcsd.org
Main Number: 352-463-3200


LAKE COUNTY
Diane Kornegay, Superintendent
201 West Burleigh Blvd
Tavares, FL 32778-2496
Email: kornegayd@lake.k12.fl.us
Main Number: 352-253-6500


LEVY COUNTY
Jeffery Edison, Superintendent
480 Marshburn Dr.,
Bronson, FL 32621
Email: Jeffery.Edison@levyk12.org
Main Number: 352- 486-5231


MARION COUNTY
Heidi Maier, Superintendent
512 SE 3 Street
Ocala, FL 34471
Email: heidi.maier@marion.k12.fl.us
Main Number: 352- 671-7700


ORANGE COUNTY
Dr. Barbara Jenkins, Superintendent
445 W. Amelia St.
Orlando, FL 32801-0271
Email: barbara.jenkins@ocps.net
Main Number: 407-317-3209


OSCEOLA COUNTY
Dr. Debra Pace, Superintendent
817 Bill Beck Blvd.
Kissimmee, FL 34744-4492
Email: pacedebr@osceola.k12.fl.us
Main Number: 407-870-4600


POLK COUNTY
Jacqueline Byrd, Superintendent
1915 S. Floral Ave
Bartow, FL 33830
Email: Jacqueline.Byrd@polk-fl.net
Main Number: 863-534-0500


SEMINOLE COUNTY
Walt Griffin, Superintendent
400 East Lake Mary Blvd
Sanford, FL 32773-7127
Email: walt_griffin@scps.k12.fl.us
Main Number: 407-320-0000


SUMTER COUNTY
Richard "Rick" A. Shirley, Superintendent
2680 West County Road 476
Bushnell, FL 33513-3574
Email: Richard.Shirley@sumter.k12.fl.us
Main Number: 352-793-2315


VOLUSIA COUNTY
Mr. James T. Russell, Superintendent
200 N. Clara Ave
DeLand, FL 32720-2118
Email: jrussell@volusia.k12.fl.us or
ddietric@volusia.k12.fl.us
Main Number: 386-734-7190

Up Next:


  • Popular

  • Recent

Stories You May Be Interested In – includes Advertiser Stories